24h Le Mans 2020 live ticker: Toyota takes pole position

Toyota takes pole position

In our live ticker, we will keep you up to date on the events of the 24 Hours of Le Mans 2020 at regular intervals.

+++ Toyota takes pole position: In the decisive Hyperpole qualifying session, things got relatively tight: Kamui Kobayashi burned the fastest race lap with a 3: 15.267 minutes, but the Rebellion team was only beaten by 0.555 seconds. The race starts tomorrow at 2.30 p.m.

Starting grid – top three in each class:
1. Toyota # 7 (Conway / Kobayashi / Lopez)
2. Rebellion # 1 (Senna / Menezes / Nato)
3. Toyota # 8 (Buemi / Nakajima / Hartley)
1. United-Autosports-Oreca # 22 (Hanson / Albuquerque / Di Resta)
2. G-Drive-Aurus # 26 (Russinow / Vergne / Jensen)
3. Racing-Team-Nederland-Oreca # 29 (Van Eerd / van der Garde / de Vries)
1. Porsche # 91 (Lietz / Bruni / Makowiecki)
2. AF-Corse-Ferrari # 51 (Pier Guidi / Calado / Serra)
3. Aston Martin # 95 (Thiim / Sörensen / Westbrook)
1. Luzich-Ferrari # 61 (Piovanetti / Negri / Ledogar)
2. Dempsey-Proton-Porsche # 77 (Ried / Campbell / Pera)
3. Project-1-Porsche # 56 (Perfetti / ten Voorde / Cairoli)

+++ It was to be expected: Toyota led the first qualifying for the 24 Hours of Le Mans 2020 and literally demonstrated the opponents. Rebellion was the first private team to be more than four seconds behind.

Fastest: Kamui Kobayashi with starting number 7. The Japanese driver shares the car with Mike Conway and Jose Maria Lopez and took 3: 17,089 minutes for the 13.6 kilometers. The sister car of Sebastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and Kazuki Nakajima was 0.247 seconds slower with the latter at the wheel.

Toyota dominates at Le Mans

Sophia Flörsch competes in Le Mans for the first time

© Picture Alliance

Incidentally, it will be the last appearance of the 1000-hp monster named Toyota TS050 Hybrid. The new hypercar regulations will come into effect next year with new cars.

Bruno Senna, Norman Nato and Gustavo Menezes finished third in the Rebellion R13 with a naturally aspirated Gibson engine. Behind: the ByKolles LMP1 car before the second rebellion.

The fastest in the LMP2, which is the largest class with 24 cars, were two seconds behind. Racing Team Nederland (car number 29) around Nyck De Vries, Frits van Eerd and Giedo van der Garde drove the best time.

Sophia Flörsch, who is starting in a women’s team for the first time in Le Mans, made it to 20th place in the class and 25th overall with Tatiana Calderon and Beitske Visser.

In the GTE-Pro class, which has shrunk to five racers, Aston Martin took first two places ahead of Ferrari (two AF Corse racers). Porsche lined up behind with the factory cars. Alone: ​​More than a second is missing.
Now the new Hyperpole format follows. Date: Friday noon (11:30 a.m. to 12 p.m.). The six fastest cars from each of the four classes qualified for this.


Related Articles

Back to top button