ADAC GT Masters: Mercedes victorious again

After 42 laps, Jules Gounon (27, GER) and Fabian Schiller (24, GER) in a Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo of the Drago Racing Team ZVO were waved off as the winners of the eighth race of the season in the ADAC GT Masters at the Nürburgring. The Franco-German duo thus celebrated their second win of the season and ensured Mercedes-AMG’s second success on this race weekend in the Eifel.

“It was a great race,” said final driver Fabian Schiller after crossing the finish line. “Our car ran fantastic and we had good pace. Third on Saturday, now the win – I’m totally happy,” said the 24-year-old.

However, the winners benefited from a mistake made by their brand colleagues from Mann-Filter Team Landgraf, who had been successful 24 hours earlier. Like on Saturday, Raffaelo Marciello started from pole position on Sunday with Maro Engel in the team’s Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo. Despite an additional weight of 20 kilograms in the car, he was able to defend the lead for the entire first half of the race up to the mandatory pit stop.

Marciello took over the car. In an effort not to fall short of the prescribed minimum pit time of 65 seconds, he lifted the gas pedal twice on the way to the pit exit, as can be proven by the data recording. However, this is forbidden and the race organizers promptly missed a so-called penalty lap on Marciello.

The winners of Sunday’s race are Fabian Schiller and Jules Gounon.

To do this, the Italian had to drive his racer off the ideal line after turn 1 of the Eifel circuit and at a speed of 60 km/h through a fixed 50 m long corridor. A new minor infringement rule introduced in 2021 in the ADAC GT Masters. Advantage of this approach: In contrast to the otherwise obligatory drive-through penalty in the pits, the sinner’s entire race is not destroyed.

In this case, however, it was enough for Fabian Schiller to take the lead. With a lead of 4.6 seconds, the man from Troisdorf drove home his team’s second win of the season, safely ahead of Marciello. A small consolation prize for Marciello, second place was enough for the Italian to extend the lead in the standings that he had secured the day before.

Joel Sturm (20, GER) from Allied-Racing crowned another tactical masterpiece with third place in the Porsche 911 GT3 R with starting number 22. After a lightning start, his driver colleague Sven Müller (30, DEU) had already fought his way up from twelfth to fifth place on the first lap. An early pit stop and the penalty of the Mercedes-AMG in front of him secured the last place on the podium for the Porsche duo.

One man’s luck was another man’s bad luck. In third place, Elias Seppänen (18/FIN), who had swapped the cockpit of the #84 Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo with Frank Bird, also received a penalty for being too short in the pits and ultimately had to settle for fourth place.

On the other hand, things went better for the combination of Maximilian Götz (36, GER) and Ezequiel Perez Companc (27, RA) in another Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo #90. The Madpanda Motorsport duo made up nine places and finished fifth – the best result for the Spanish team in the ADAC GT Masters to date.

The best Lamborghini drivers were Konsta Lappalainen (20, FIN) and Mick Wishofer (22, AUT) from Emil Frey Racing in sixth place. Behind them, Kim-Luis Schramm (24, DEU) and Dennis Marschall (25, DEU) from Rutronik Racing finished seventh in the fastest Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II.
Franck Perera (38, F) and Arthur Rougier (22, F) from Emil Frey Racing showed great fighting spirit, making up ten places with their #19 Lamborghini Huracán GT3 Evo and finishing Sunday’s race in eighth place. The couple Jesse Krohn (31/FIN) and Nicky Catsburg (34/NL) from Schubert Motorsport also showed their teeth and fought their way up from penultimate place to ninth place in the #20 BMW M4 GT3.

ADAC GT Masters
Result Sunday race

1. Schiller/Gounon (Mercedes)
2. Marciello/Engel (Mercedes)
3. Storm/Müller (Porsche)
4. Seppanen/Bird (Mercedes)
5. Perez Companc/Goetz (Mercedes)
6. Wishofer/Lappalainen (Lamborghini)
7. Schramm/Marshal (Audi)
8. Perera/Rougier (Lamborghini)
9. Catsburg/Krohn (BMW)
10. Paul/Mapelli (Lamborghini)

Standing driver after 8 of 14 races

1. R. Marciello (109 points)
2. J. Gounon (93 points)
2. F. Schiller (93 points)
3. C. Engelhart (85 points)
3. A. Güven (85 points)
4. S. Müller (80 points)
4th J. Storm (80 points)
5. N. Krütten (78 points)
5. B. Green (78 points)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button