ADAC Opel e-Rally Cup: First electric rally champion

The second electrical master of the year has been determined! First Nyck de Vries (Mercedes) in Formula E, now Laurent Pellier (26) in the ADAC Opel e-Rally Cup …
At the third to last race of the season as part of the ADAC Rallye Wartburg, the Frenchman and his co-driver Marine Pelamourgues were crowned the world’s first champion of an electric brand cup.

Because he also secured the five bonus points for winning the Power Stage and most of the special stage best times and thus has the maximum number of points of 200 points on his account, Pellier can win the last two races at the ADAC 3-Cities Rally and the AvD -Saxony Rally can no longer be overtaken.

“It’s a fantastic feeling to be the first champion of an electric rally cup,” says Pellier happily. “I knew I could get the title across here, so I felt a little more pressure.”

The driver from the Saintéloc Junior Team at the ADAC Wartburg rally had to step down the power pedal quite a bit. Above all, the Dutchman Timo van der Marel put the Dominator under a lot of pressure and in the end would only have had to admit defeat by 1.8 seconds. If it hadn’t been for the ten penalty seconds that the 32-year-old had earned for not correctly passing a chicane in SS3. Nevertheless, van der Marel and his wife Rebecca finished second in the end.

Laurent Pellier with his co-driver Marine Pelamourgues

Pellier also knows that the air in the cup is getting thinner and thinner: “At the beginning we had an advantage. The others probably saw us as the ones to beat and maybe attacked too hard here and there. My style is to let the car roll, to drive it gently and not too aggressively. Over time, the others have adapted their style. And this is probably the reason why things are getting tighter and tighter in the cup. “

The Austrians Luca Waldherr / Claudia Maier secured the last podium place in the Asphalt-Hatz at the foot of the Wartburg in Eisenach in the Corsa-e Rally from Opel Austria ahead of Max Reiter / Lina Meter from the AvD Junior Team.

Alexander Kattenbach / Ann Felke, who started in fifth place for the ADAC Hessen-Thüringen, also showed a strong performance.

The star of the series is undoubtedly Laurent Pellier. “From the very first event, Laurent left his mark on the ADAC Opel e-Rally Cup”, praised Opel Motorsport Director Jörg Schrott. “The fact that we can see on our data that he is not only usually the fastest, but also uses the least amount of energy of all participants is also very remarkable. That shows how efficient Pellier is. “

Schrott explains how the French do it. “He runs the Corsa-e Rally, drives clean and smooth. And that’s exactly the right recipe for a vehicle that only produces 136 hp. “

The sixth round of the ADAC Opel e-Rally Cup will take place on 15./16. October as part of the ADAC 3-Cities Rally around Freyung. The traditional event in Lower Bavaria is part of the German and Austrian rally championships.

ADAC Opel e-Rally Cup score after 5 of 7 races:

1. Pellier, 200 points (master)
2. Waldherr and Reiter, 114 each
4. Van der Marel 102
5. Kattenbach 85
6. Wabnitz 72
7. Munster 55
8.Baur 50
9. Thiele 37
10. Lemke 34

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button