Austrian Airlines is further expanding the summer flight schedule

The airline Austrian Airlines announces the inclusion of a total of 15 additional summer routes. The background is that the federal government will lift the landing ban for machines that have started in a total of 18 states at midnight. Strict entry regulations serve as a “substitute” for people who want to enter Austria from “risk areas”.

On Wednesday evening, the Austrian government announced that the landing bans for flights from Egypt, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia as well as Great Britain, Sweden and Ukraine will expire on July 31. This makes it possible for destinations to be included in the Austrian Airlines flight program again. The new entry regulation issued on Monday continues to apply. Due to local entry requirements, Austrian Airlines recently canceled flights to Shanghai and Tel Aviv from August.

As of today, July 31, flights to Bucharest, Chicago, Pristina and Sarajevo are to be offered. From August 1, the domestic airline will again fly to Belgrade, Cairo, Kiev, London, Podgorica, Sibiu, Skopje, Sofia, Stockholm, Tirana and Varna. The following frequencies are already planned for August:

“We welcome the Austrian government’s solution, which combines the highest requirements for health protection and those for freedom of travel. Now we want to quickly expand our route network and re-establish our hub at Vienna Airport in order to offer our customers a wide range of transfer connections promptly, ”explains Austrian Airlines CCO Andreas Otto.

The new entry regulations at a glance:

No COVID-19 tests (PCR test) or quarantine measures are required for the entry of passengers from the following European countries: Andorra, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Great Britain, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, San Marino, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Czech Republic, Hungary, Vatican and Cyprus.

Transfer passengers also do not need a COVID test.

Austrians, EU / EEA and Swiss citizens as well as persons residing in Austria who come from a risk area must have a health certificate in German or English (with a negative PCR test, not older than 72 hours upon arrival) or if testing was not possible after the entry, do a PCR test within 48 hours at your own expense. Until the negative test result is available, a self-monitored (home) quarantine must be started.

Countries or areas with an increased Covid 19 risk are: Egypt, Albania, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kosovo, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nigeria , North Macedonia, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Sweden, Senegal, Serbia, South Africa, Turkey, Ukraine, USA and the province of Hubei (China).

Third-country nationals are generally prohibited from entering the country unless they come from the Schengen area and can submit a negative PCR test that is not older than 72 hours. After entering the country, these people also have to go through a 10-day self-monitored (home) quarantine. For this, an accommodation confirmation must be presented, the costs of which are to be borne by yourself.

There are exceptions for certain groups of third country nationals. This also includes those who are in a partnership with a person living in Austria. With the appropriate proof, they can enter without a quarantine and without a COVID test.


Related Articles

Back to top button