Tech

Delete Telegram account – this is how it works






If you want to delete your Telegram account, this is only possible by calling up a deactivation page. We’ll tell you what it’s all about.

With messenger services, deleting a user account is possible at any time and is generally very straightforward. Whatsapp or Signal, for example, offer this option directly in the app settings. With Telegram, however, you cannot delete your account via the app; you have to go to a specific page in the browser.

How to delete your Telegram account

In Telegram’s FAQs – be it in the app or in the browser version – you will be informed about the effects of an account deletion and you will be referred to this deactivation page. Then proceed as follows:

  1. Enter the telephone number to be deleted, with which you are logged on to Telegram, in

    international format

    and click on “Next”.

  2. You will then receive a confirmation code via chat message (attention: no SMS!), Which you have to enter on the browser page under “Confirmation Code”. Continue with “Sign in”.

  3. Confirm the deletion of your Telegram account by clicking on “Done”.

With Telegram, an account deletion is only possible in the browser

Enlarge

With Telegram, an account deletion is only possible in the browser

Important information on deleting a Telegram account

  • If you want to register again after deleting your account, this may be blocked for a few days.

  • If you have been restricted due to spam, re-registration will not remove these restrictions – unless you register under a new number.

  • The so-called

    Self-extinguishing:

    By default, accounts that have been inactive for more than six months are automatically deleted along with all messages, media, contacts and cloud data.

Other exciting topics related to Telegram:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button