Tech

Deleting a Twitter account: How to get rid of your Twitter account safely


With our step-by-step instructions, delete your Twitter account now! Plus: alternative to deletion.

Do you want to delete your Twitter account completely? No problem, we will show you step by step how to get rid of your Twitter account.

1. Delete Twitter account in the app (Android, iOS)

You can delete your Twitter account directly in the Twitter app for Android or iOS.

For a long time this was not possible. Before Twitter integrated the “Deactivate account” as a menu item in the app, you could

Only open Twitter in the browser on your PC, notebook, tablet or smartphone and then deactivate your account there
.

Now open the Twitter app on your iPhone or Android smartphone and tap on your thumbnail in the top left. Then select “Settings and data protection, Account” and then the entry “Deactivate account” at the bottom. Tap on it.

You can also deactivate your Twitter account directly in the Twitter app. It will be deleted 30 days after deactivation. Here in the example the iOS version of the Twitter app.

Enlarge

You can also deactivate your Twitter account directly in the Twitter app. It will be deleted 30 days after deactivation. Here in the example the iOS version of the Twitter app.

Twitter now displays a page with instructions on what will happen to your Twitter data after it has been deleted. In addition, Twitter wants to change your mind again and gives tips on how you can simply change your Twitter name without having to shut down your Twitter account entirely. On the following page, scroll all the way down and tap “Deactivate”. How it goes after that

read in this article under point 3.

2. Open Twitter in the browser

Open

twitter.com
in the browser.

2.1 Open Twitter on the smartphone in the browser

Open the Twitter website in the smartphone browser on your Android or iPhone.

Enter your Twitter username and password and sign in to Twitter. Then tap on the profile picture / icon, then on “Settings and data protection”, then on “Account” and swipe all the way down to “Deactivate account”.

On the smartphone, you open Twitter in the browser and not in the app.

Enlarge

On the smartphone, you open Twitter in the browser and not in the app.

2.2 Open Twitter in the desktop browser

If you open Twitter in a desktop browser on a PC, notebook or tablet, then after logging in, click on “More” in the navigation bar at the bottom left and then on the entry “Settings and data protection”.

First go to Settings and Privacy. Then click on

Enlarge

First go to Settings and Privacy. Then click on “Deactivate your account”.

In the page that then opens, click on “Deactivate your account” at the bottom right.

2.3. Twitter wants to change your mind again

Twitter now displays a page with instructions on what will happen to your Twitter data after deletion. In addition, Twitter wants to change your mind again and gives tips on how you can simply change your Twitter name without having to shut down your Twitter account entirely. If you have opened Twitter in a desktop browser, you must also select whether the reactivation period should be 30 days or 12 months (Twitter does not display this selection in the app or in the browser on the smartphone). When you have selected one of the two options, scroll down to the bottom and then click on “Deactivate”.

Twitter wants to change your mind again. You also need to define the length of the reactivation period. At the bottom of this page you will then find the crucial link.

Enlarge

Twitter wants to change your mind again. You also need to define the length of the reactivation period. At the bottom of this page you will then find the crucial link.

3. Enter your Twitter password one last time

Then a pop-up window will open. Enter your password again here. Your Twitter account will then be closed and the Twitter name should no longer be found after a few minutes. Individual tweets can, however, remain available for a few days. In addition, Google may still have references to your tweets in the cache of its search engine – Twitter has no influence on this. But your Twitter account is not deleted forever. Because if you deactivate your account, it will initially only be placed in a queue for permanent deletion from Twitter.

If you enter your password now, you will delete your account. Whereby: You still have 30 days to hang out.

Enlarge

If you enter your password now, you will delete your account. Whereby: You still have 30 days to hang out.

4. Wait 30 days or 12 months

Twitter does not completely delete an account immediately, but lets it dormant for 30 days (if you deactivate your Twitter account in the desktop browser, you can also leave the account dormant for 12 months). That is how long you can change your mind. During these 30 days (12 months) all you have to do is log in to Twitter with your username and password. And your Twitter account is active again!

In the test, we were able to reactivate such a shutdown Twitter account after a few days without any problems and without loss of tweets, images, texts, settings and followers. Our tweets and our profile were no longer available during this time, as far as we could verify.

5. It’s really over after 30 days

If you stop logging in for at least 30 days (12 months) after deletion, Twitter will permanently delete your data and your Twitter name. Like Twitter, it can take a week until all your data is completely deleted

writes.

Tip:

You can save your data (photos and texts in the tweets) on your computer before deleting it under “Settings, Account, Your Twitter Data, Your Data, Request Your Data”. As soon as you click or tap the “Request your data” link here, Twitter will send a file containing all the information associated with your Twitter account to the email address you have provided.

How to back up your Twitter data by email.

Important:

If you just want to change your Twitter name or your saved email address, you can do this at any time in the Twitter settings. So you don’t have to delete your Twitter account with all the tweets to do this.

Alternative to deleting the Twitter account

Attention:

If you delete a Twitter account, its name becomes available again. Anyone interested can then use it for themselves. If you want to prevent this from happening, don’t delete your Twitter account, just stop using it.

Delete all tweets that you have published, your profile photo and all externally visible information or set this information to not visible: Under “Settings and data protection, data protection and security, target group and marking” click on “Protect your tweets”. “And delete your followers.

As already described above, you can save your data before deleting it under “Settings, Your Account, NewsABC.net an archive of your data”. After a few days at the latest, nothing relevant about you can be found on Twitter. That should be sufficient for most users and always gives you the option of being able to tweet again under the old Twitter name at some point.

Tip:

Each username and email address can only be used once on Twitter. If you want to use the Twitter name of the Twitter account to be deleted or its email address for another Twitter account, then change it first and only then delete your Twitter account. You can then enter the old name on a different Twitter account. Twitter explains exactly how this works

here.

Tags

Related Articles

Back to top button
Close
Close