Tech

Deleting your Xing account: How to delete your Xing account immediately






Do you want to delete your Xing account? No problem: With our instructions, you can delete your Xing basic membership or your Xing premium membership with just a few clicks of the mouse. Plus: Deactivate your Xing account.

With our instructions, you can delete both your Xing basic membership and your Xing premium membership with just a few clicks of the mouse. We will also explain the alternative to deleting your Xing account: namely, deactivating your Xing account.

Delete Xing

Log in to Xing. Click on your profile picture in the top right corner and then on “Settings”. Then go to “User Account” and then to “Delete Profile”.

Go to

Enlarge

Go to “User Account” and then to “Delete Profile”. The screenshot is from an older version of the Xing site.

What you see on the next page now depends on whether you have a free basic membership or a paid Xing Premium membership.

Delete your Xing profile as a free member

On the page that appears now, Xing tries to persuade you to stay. For example, you can set that you will receive fewer emails from Xing. Or get help from support. However, if you want to continue to delete your Xing profile, click on “Next” at the bottom right.

Xing is still trying to change your mind. The screenshot is from an older version of the Xing site.

Enlarge

Xing is still trying to change your mind. The screenshot is from an older version of the Xing site.

On the next page you can read that by deleting all your data and personal messages will be irretrievably lost. You will get the chance to download this data before deleting it. Your contributions in the personal areas of other members, for example the messages you have sent, will be retained, but your name will no longer appear there.

These are the consequences. The screenshot is from an older version of the Xing site.

Enlarge

These are the consequences. The screenshot is from an older version of the Xing site.

Now check the box in front of “I have read the consequences of a profile deletion and I agree to it” to permanently delete your profile. Xing emphasizes that it really does delete your profile data. So this cannot be reversed. By the way, it may well be that your deleted Xing profile can still be found for a certain time via search engines.

Delete your Xing profile as a premium member

If you are a paying Xing Premium member and want to save almost 120 euros per year for premium membership in the future, then you can simply switch your Xing membership – from paid membership to free membership.

tip

: If you want to use the remaining term until the last day, then it is advisable not to switch your Xing Premium membership to the basic membership immediately, but instead to cancel it in good time.

Cancel Xing Premium Membership:

You can cancel your premium membership up to three weeks before the end of the current term. If you do not cancel in due time, your premium membership will only end at the end of your upcoming term.

However, if you really want to delete your Xing Premium account completely, click on “Delete profile” at the bottom right. On the following page you can switch your paid Xing account to free membership, just leave your profile on hold or delete it entirely. To delete it, however, you have to contact Xing’s customer service via the contact form.

Attention:

Any remaining term of your premium membership expires, Xing will not refund you any money.

Tip: Deactivate your Xing profile

If you do not want to lose all of your profile data and messages, but just let Xing rest and be undetectable on Xing, you can simply select “Deactivate profile” under “Settings, user account, delete profile”. There you can specify how long your profile should remain offline. You can choose between 1 month and 12 months for this time-out. Your Xing profile can then no longer be accessed for the selected period, but all of your data will be retained.

Premium memberships are suspended for the period of deactivation. Xing will credit your profile for the period of deactivation after reactivation, as the business network promises.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button