Euro 1 to Euro 6d: Which Euro standard does my diesel have?

Even if the diesel is on the retreat in terms of registration numbers: at the beginning of 2022 there were still almost 15 million cars in Germany (30.5 percent of the total stock) have an engine of this type on board. But there are big differences among the self-igniters in terms of pollutant emissions.
Euro 4, Euro 5, Euro 6d, Euro 6d-TEMP, Euro 6d TEMP EVAP or even Euro 6d ISC FCM – not only since the emissions scandal and the verdict on driving bans have these standard designations been on the minds of German motorists. As of January 1, 2021, test cycles and emission standards for new registrations were further tightened, and the next stage has long been on the horizon for 2025 with Euro 7. Millions of diesel owners are asking themselves: What do these pollution standards mean? How do I find out which emissions standard my car has? Will my car soon no longer be allowed to drive on certain streets in certain major cities?

Useful and cheap car accessories

Euro standards: these are the differences

First of all: The emission class does not correspond to the number on the environmental sticker, which is stuck on the windscreen and is decisive for entering environmental zones. There have been limit values ​​for pollutant emissions in the European Union since 1992 (since 2000 also for nitrogen dioxide/NOx). It started back then euro 1. Limits and measurement methods have been adjusted over the years.
the Euro 5 standard was valid until the end of August 2015 and was replaced by the Euro 6b standard. On September 1st, 2017 there was a radical change across the EU, namely two new emission tests: an improved one on the test bench – the WLTP – and an additional one on the street, the RDE (“Real Driving Emissions”). Since September 1, 2018, WLTP tests have been mandatory for the Euro 6c standard.

New cars must also pass the RDE test

Since the beginning Sept 2019 New cars also had to pass the RDE test when they were first registered in order to Euro 6d TEMP standard (this has been the case for the certification of new models since September 1, 2018). TEMP stands for “temporary” and should make it clear that this is a transitional norm until the beginning of the year 2021 was – then apply with Euro 6d yet stricter requirements. In the laboratory, diesel cars are allowed to emit a maximum of 80 milligrams of nitrogen oxide per kilometer. The limit for the road in the RDE test is significantly higher: 168 milligrams of nitrogen oxide, from 2020 onwards only 114.4 milligrams (type approval). This is due to the so-called conformity factors of 2.1 and 1.43, i.e. transitional periods negotiated by the industry.
Since January 1st, 2021 the latest 6d evolution stage is in effect. As with new vehicle types since the beginning of 2020, new registrations must now also be the norm Euro 6d ISC FCM fulfill. ISC (In-Service-Conformity-Tests) means that a car manufacturer has to prove by means of spot checks that cars in operation meet the legal requirements. The FCM system (Fuel Consumption Monitoring) saves the real consumption values, which can be compared with the manufacturer’s information via a diagnostics interface.

Two digits in the vehicle registration decide

Which Euro standard your car meets and whether it is affected by driving bans is revealed by the vehicle registration document (Registration certificate 1). If the papers were issued before 2005, the last two numbers in the field indicate “Key number to 1” outcrop. For newer documents from 2005 is it the last two digits in the field “14.1″.

New vehicle registration

The decisive digit is in the vehicle registration document in field 14.1 (image): This vehicle would be affected by driving bans.

Roughly speaking: If there is a number between 00 and 88, the car meets the standards Euro 1 to Euro 4 – and is affected. Euro 5 diesels have the codes 35A0 to 35M0 in the same field. For owners of cars in emission class Euro 6a and 6b, the code numbers 36N0 to 36Y0 or 36BA to 36BC appear in the same place in the vehicle registration document. However, only diesel that meets the 6d-TEMP and 6d standards should always be on the safe side. An ADAC list of vehicles of this type can be found here, a detailed breakdown can be found here:

key numbers and emission classes

Emission class Euro 1


Key numbers 01, 02, 03, 04, 09, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18, 21, 22, 77

Emission class Euro 2


Key numbers 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 34, 35, 40, 41, 49, 71

Emission class Euro 3


Key numbers 30, 31, 36, 37, 42, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61

Emission class Euro 4


Key numbers 32, 33, 38, 39, 43, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70

Emission class Euro 5


Key numbers 35AO to 35EO (Euro 5a), 35FO to 35MO (Euro 5b)

Emission class Euro 6a


Key numbers 36NO to 36PO

Emission class Euro 6b


Key numbers 36QO to 36YO (NEDC test); 36BA to 36BC (WLTP test)

Emission class Euro 6c


Key numbers 36ZA to 36ZF (NEDC test); 36AA to 36AF (36AE and 36AF Euro 6c-EVAP; WLTP test)

EVAP = Evaporative Emission

Emission class Euro 6d-TEMP


Key numbers 36ZG to 36ZI (test according to NEDC); 36AG to 36AI, 36BG to 36BI (Euro 6d-TEMP-EVAP), 36CG to 36CI and 36DG (Euro 6d-TEMP-EVAP-ISC; all testing according to WLTP)

EVAP = Evaporative Emission
ISC = In-Service Conformity Tests

Emission class Euro 6d


Key numbers 36ZJ to 36ZL (test according to NEDC); 36AJ to 36AL (WLTP test)

Emission class Euro 6d ISC


Key numbers 36AM to 36AO (WLTP test)

ISC = In-Service Conformity Tests

Emission class Euro 6d ISC-FCM


Key numbers 36AP to 36AR (WLTP test)

ISC = In-Service Conformity Tests
FCM = Fuel Consumption Monitoring (monitoring and storage of energy consumption)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button