F1: two titles, 25 wins: is Ferrari a career dead end?

Is Ferrari a career dead end?

For Sebastian Vettel, the Ferrari chapter ends after this season. Of the last 20 Ferrari drivers, only two became world champions afterwards.

Karrieresackgasse Ferrari. Most racing drivers dream of driving Formula One one day for Ferrari. Only top stars can do it. But they often go under at Ferrari: only nine out of 76 Ferrari drivers became world champions, only 38 (exactly half) won with Ferrari GP races (read more HERE).
For most drivers, not much comes after Ferrari. 20 drivers have been driving the Scuderia Ferrari since 1983. Sebastian Vettel will leave Ferrari at the end of 2020. A look at the history reveals what might come for our German hero after the intermezzo with the Scuderia.
Two stopped afterwards: Luca Badoer and Giancarlo Fisichella. They contested only a few races in 2009 as a replacement for the injured Felipe Massa at Ferrari. Badoer had not raced for ten years before, but was an important Ferrari test driver in the Michael Schumacher era. Today he looks after his son Brando Badoer, who is taking his first steps into motorsport in karting. Fisichella still drives GT races for Ferrari today – for example at the Le Mans 24 Hours.

What’s next for Sebastian Vettel?

Two other drivers only drove a few Grands Prix after Ferrari. Nicola Larini, who finished second in the tragic Imola GP in 1994, returned to Sauber in 1997 for five races. Ivan Capelli, who shone at Leyton House in vehicles designed by Adrian Newey, failed at Ferrari in 1992. In 1993 he drove two last races for Jordan. Then his F1 career was over. With just a few drivers, it became clear how harmful Ferrari can be to a career.

The 16 other Ferrari drivers stayed in Formula 1 – sometimes after a break (as with Michael Schumacher). Together they make it to Ferrari in 56 Formula 1 seasons, on 78 podiums, 25 wins and two world titles.

Alain Prost was put on the road by Ferrari in 1991 after comparing the steering of the racing car with that of a truck. In 1993 he made his comeback and actually became world champion again with Williams. After the 1990 season, Nigel Mansell switched from Ferrari to Williams and in 1992 won the long-awaited and well-deserved world title.

Racing victories were also celebrated by Gerhard Berger (1997 in Germany in the Benetton-Renault) and Rubens Barrichello (2009 twice in the Brawn-Mercedes).

After all, they made it onto the podium: Patrick Tambay with Renault, Stefan Johansson with Onyx, Michele Alboreto with Tyrrell, Gianni Morbidelli with Footwork, Jean Alesi with Benetton and Sauber, Eddie Irvine with Jaguar, Michael Schumacher with Mercedes and Felipe Massa with Williams.
In the picture gallery we show you the last 20 Ferrari drivers and what happened to them.


Related Articles

Back to top button