Formula 1: Alfa keeps Raikkonen and Giovinazzi

Alfa tight! Schumi Jr. probably to Haas

Kimi Räikkönen and Antonio Giovinazzi will also start for Alfa Romeo in 2021. The Iceman is entering its 19th Formula 1 season!

Kum someone has as many fans across borders as Kimi Räikkönen. The crowd’s favorite and world champion of the 2007 season will drive for Alfa Romeo again in 2021. “Alfa Romeo is more than a team to me. It’s like a second family. So many of the faces I saw in 2001 are still here. And the unique atmosphere of this team is what gives me the motivation for my 19th season in this sport, ”explains the 41-year-old.
Raikkonen, who is the record participant in Formula 1 with 325 Grands Prix, will contest its 19th season in 2021. Only Rubens Barrichello and Michael Schumacher were represented in the premier class for so many years.

The crowd favorite Kimi Raikkonen stays in Formula 1

© Alfa Romeo Racing

Raikkonen’s team-mate remains Antonio Giovinazzi. The Italian has many advocates in the FIAT group. It is also clear: Mick Schumacher will most likely start for the Haas team after 2021. And: Because Nikita Mazepin is to become his teammate, Schumi junior will be the only one of the three Ferrari juniors who will advance from Formula 2 to Formula 1. Callum Ilott could be withdrawn into the GT program or switch to Formula E, Robert Shwartzman will compete in Formula 2 for a second year.

Alfa Romeo team boss Frédéric Vasseur on the 2021 driver selection: “I am very happy that we can continue to work with Kimi and Antonio. I see a Raikkonen who is still inspired by passion. We can always rely on him one hundred percent, it was extremely important to me that he keep going. Antonio has shown an increase in performance and deserves his place. “

Formula 1 driver field 2021
Mercedes: Lewis Hamilton (?) – Valtteri Bottas
Red Bull-Honda: Max Verstappen – Albon / Hülkenberg / Pérez (?)
Aston Martin-Mercedes: Lance Stroll – Sebastian Vettel
McLaren-Mercedes: Lando Norris – Daniel Ricciardo
Renault: Esteban Ocon – Fernando Alonso
Ferrari: Charles Leclerc – Carlos Sainz
Alpha Tauri-Honda: Pierre Gasly – Tsunoda / Albon (?)
Alfa Romeo-Ferrari: Antonio Giovinazzi – Kimi Raikkonen
Haas-Ferrari: Schumacher / Ilott (?) – Mazepin / Hülkenberg (?)
Williams-Mercedes: George Russell – Nicholas Latifi


Related Articles

Back to top button