Formula 1: Hamilton wins crash races

Mass crash after a strange restart

Mercedes takes a double victory at the Tuscany GP in Mugello. Many accidents and a mass crash cause two breaks in the race.

JLewis Hamilton is now just missing one win on Michael Schumacher’s all-time record! Hamilton wins a turbulent Tuscan GP in Mugello and thus ensures the 100th victory for Mercedes after the comeback as a works team in 2010.

Hamilton on this historic victory: “Today it was as if there were several races in one. It was really hard and also difficult to keep Valtter behind me. “

Lewis Hamilton wins the Tuscany GP

The race was marked by many accidents. It already crashes at the start because Verstappen is not making good progress. The Dutchman and Monza winner Pierre Gasly retired, Kimi Räikkönen and Romain Grosjean can continue. Carlos Sainz is also turned a little further ahead. For Verstappen, the race would have been over without an accident: Because of an engine problem, he fell back into the crowd in the first place. “I don’t know yet what exactly was going on. But it felt just like Monza. Sometimes there was power, then not. ”

Red Bull victorious?

Dr. Helmut Marko is disappointed at RTL: “After the start he lost power, then it worked again, then again not – like in Monza. It has to be something in the electronics field. It’s a real shame because that would have been our race if I look at our tire wear and that of Mercedes. We had the speed. “

Then chaos at the restart: Valtteri Bottas, who had taken the lead from Lewis Hamilton, accelerated very late. This leads to a mass crash in the back field. That pulls Carlos Sainz, Antonio Giovinazzi, Nicholas Latifi and Kevin Magnussen out of the running. “What are they doing up there? They want to kill us, ”Grosjean radioed angrily.
According to the letter of the regulations, Bottas did not do anything wrong. “But we really have to learn from this scene because it was really a bad accident,” said Sainz. “It’s not great when you drive 280 km / h and then suddenly there is a car in front of you that is almost at a standstill.”

The race must be interrupted. At the restart, the race decision is made: Hamilton prevails against Bottas. Then he controls the GP. Even an undercut attempt does not bring Bottas any success.

Then it crashes again. After a puncture, Lance Stroll rushes sideways into the stacks of tires. He remains unharmed, but the barrier has to be repaired again. His racing point almost burns down during the recovery.

Ferrari with debacle for the anniversary

At the third standing start, Hamilton made everything clear. Ricciardo falls behind Alex Albon, who takes his first podium in Formula 1.

For Ferrari, the 1000th GP is a farce: Charles Leclerc is eighth, Sebastian Vettel tenth. Find out more about Ferrari’s anniversary celebration HERE.

Lewis Hamilton is now 55 points ahead of the two-week break. This also means that he will still be leading the table after the next two races.

Tuscany GP
1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
3. Alex Albon (Red Bull-Honda)
4. Daniel Ricciardo (Renault)
5. Sergio Pérez (Racing Point-Mercedes)
6. Lando Norris (McLaren-Renault)
7. Daniil Kvyat (Alpha Tauri-Honda)
8. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
9. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo-Ferrari)
10. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
11. George Russell (Williams-Mercedes)
12. Romain Grosjean (Haas-Ferrari)
Lance Stroll (Racing Point-Mercedes) tire damage / accident
Esteban Ocon (Renault) Overheated brakes
Nicholas Latifi (Williams-Mercedes) collision
Kevin Magnussen (Haas-Ferrari) collision
Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) collision
Carlos Sainz (McLaren-Renault) collision
Max Verstappen (Red Bull-Honda) collision
Pierre Gasly (Alpha Tauri-Honda) collision

Drivers World Championship
1. Lewis Hamilton 190
2. Valtteri Bottas 135
3. Max Verstappen 110
4. Lando Norris 65
5. Alex Albon 63
6. Lance Stroll 57
7. Daniel Ricciardo 53
8. Charles Leclerc 49
9. Sergio Pérez 44
10. Pierre Gasly 43
11. Carlos Sainz 41
12. Esteban Ocon 30
13. Sebastian Vettel 17
14. Daniil Kvyat 10
15.Nico Hulkenberg 6
16. Kimi Raikkonen 2
17. Antonio Giovinazzi 2
18. Kevin Magnussen 1
19. Nicholas Latifi 0
20. George Russell 0
21. Romain Grosjean 0

Constructors’ championship
1. Mercedes 325
2. Red Bull-Honda 173
3. McLaren-Renault 106
4. Racing Point Mercedes 92
5. Renault 83
6. Ferrari 66
7. Alpha Tauri-Honda 53
8. Alfa Romeo-Ferrari 4
9. Haas-Ferrari 1
10. Williams-Mercedes 0


Related Articles

Back to top button