Formula 1 Russia GP: Drama about McLaren, Hamilton wins

McLaren drama, Hamilton wins

Crazy race at the Russian Grand Prix in Sochi! Lewis Hamilton takes his 100th victory in Norris drama

Lando Norris (McLaren) looks like a sure winner up to six laps to go. Then the rain set in – and the pole setter gambled away. In contrast to his pursuer Hamilton, the Briton refuses to come in to switch to intermediates. That will be his undoing. The rain is getting stronger. Due to his sledding game and the late stop, Norris falls back to seventh place.

Experience Formula 1 with the SKY Supersport Ticket

Hamiilton consoles his young compatriot: “Lando did such a great job, had great pace, then something like that! Like everyone else, I didn’t know what the weather was going to do. Finally my 100th victory. I thought it would never come! “

Max Verstappen also benefits from the rain and a quick switch to intermediates. He moves up from last place on the grid to second. Without the rain, more than seventh would hardly have been possible. “Losing just one place on Lewis here isn’t that bad. I wasn’t expecting that when I woke up this morning. We stayed out of all trouble and in the end made the right decision. “

Norris and McLaren gamble away.

© F1 / Twitter

Sebastian Vettel lands in twelfth place behind his team-mate Lance Stroll. When it started raining, the two Aston Martins touched each other briefly.

Mick Schumacher has to park his Haas-Ferrari in the pits with a technical defect. Annoying for the German, who has only just overtaken his teammate Nikita Mazepin after a bad start and is in 19th place.

Schumacher: “I don’t yet know what exactly broke. Seems to be internal to the engine. Tried to solve the problem but couldn’t. It’s a shame, because at the time I was the fastest car in the field behind Lewis Hamilton. “

Formula 1 at a glance at SKY Q

Formula 1 Grand Prix of Russia

1. Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain) – Mercedes 1:30: 41.001 hours
2. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) – Red Bull +53.271 sec.
3. Carlos Sainz Jr. (Spain) – Ferrari +1: 02.475 min.
4. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) – McLaren +1: 05,607
5. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) – Mercedes +1: 07.533
6. Fernando Alonso (Spain) – Alpine +1: 21.321
7. Lando Norris (UK) – McLaren +1: 27.224
8. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) – Alfa Romeo +1: 28.955
9. Sergio Perez (Mexico) – Red Bull +1: 30.076
10. George Russell (Great Britain) – Williams +1: 40.551
11. Lance Stroll (Canada) – Aston Martin +1: 46.198
12. Sebastian Vettel (Heppenheim) – Aston Martin + 1 round.
13.Pierre Gasly (France) – Alpha Tauri + 1 rd.
14. Esteban Ocon (France) – Alpine + 1 round.
15. Charles Leclerc (Monaco) – Ferrari + 1 rd.
16. Antonio Giovinazzi (Italy) – Alfa Romeo + 1 rd.
17. Yuki Tsunoda (Japan) – Alpha Tauri + 1 round.
18.Nikita Masepin (Russia) – Haas + 2 rounds.
19. Nicholas Latifi (Canada) – Williams + 6 rd.


Mick Schumacher (Gland / Switzerland) – Haas (34th round)

Formula 1 on TV

Formula 1 will run at Sky in 2021. The station is setting up its own TV station for the new era: Sky Formula 1. Here there is motorsport 24 hours a day. All training sessions, all qualifying sessions, all races always live and without commercial breaks. Sky also broadcasts the Formula 2, Formula 3 and Porsche Supercup races. The program also includes historical races and special programs. You can find more information here

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button