Formula 1: Statistics Italy GP: Crazy numbers for Gasly’s victory

Insane numbers for Gasly’s win

Pierre Gasly is the 109th winner in Formula 1 history. Only Australia had to wait longer to win than France. Third youngest podium ever.

+++ Nobody expected this victory: Pierre Gasly got the first GP success of his career and is the 109th winner of a world championship run.

+++ Gasly is the 13th Formula 1 winner from France. Alain Prost (51), René Arnoux (7), Jacques Laffite (6), Didier Pironi (3), Maurice Trintignant (2), Patrick Depailler (2), Jean-Pierre Jabouille (2), Patrick Tambay ( 2), François Cevert (1), Jean-Pierre Beltoise (1), Jean Alesi (1), Olivier Panis (1) and Pierre Gasly (1) to 80 victories. This makes France the fourth most successful Formula 1 nation behind Great Britain (293), Germany (179) and Brazil (101).

+++ Nevertheless, France had to wait a long time for a victory: Before Gasly, Olivier Panis won the 1996 Monaco GP in the Ligier Mugen-Honda – that too was a surprise winner. Only Australia had to wait longer for an F1 triumph: between Alan Jones ‘victory in Las Vegas in 1981 in the Williams Ford-Cosworth and that of Mark Webber at the 2009 German GP in the Red Bull-Renault, even 28 years passed.

Hamilton’s winning streak is broken

+++ For Alpha Tauri it is the first victory under this name (35 different manufacturers have won a World Championship run with it), but the second for the racing team itself. Twelve years have passed since Sebastian Vettel’s victory at the Italian GP 2008. Only the Ligier team had to wait longer for a triumph – 14 years passed between Canada 1981 (Jacques Laffite) and Monaco 1996 (Panis). Mercedes even had to wait 56 years between Italy in 1955 (Juan-Manuel Fangio) and China in 2012 (Nico Rosberg), but for many years it was not in Formula 1 at all.

Honda wins with six teams

+++ For the first time in the hybrid era, a team that is not called Mercedes, Ferrari or Red Bull could win. That last happened at the 2013 Australian GP, ​​when Kimi Räikkönen won in a Lotus-Renault (now Renault).
+++ Alpha Tauri is already the sixth team with which Honda was able to win a world championship run – alongside the Honda works team itself, Williams, Lotus, McLaren and Red Bull. If you add the subsidiary Mugen-Honda to this, it is through Ligier and Jordan even have two additional teams. Only Ford-Cosworth could win with more racing teams (14): Lotus, McLaren, Tyrrell, Brabham, March, Hesketh, Penske, Wolf, Shadow, Ligier, Williams, Benetton, Stewart, Jordan.
+++ Carlos Sainz was only beaten by 0.415 seconds. Most recently, the finish at the Singapore GP 2010 was closer when Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) relegated Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault) to second place by 0.293 seconds.
+++ Pierre Gasly, Carlos Sainz and Lance Stroll had an average age on the podium of 24 years, one month and 24 days. The podium was only twice younger: At the 2019 Brazilian GP, ​​Max Verstappen, Pierre Gasly and Carlos Sainz were 23 years, eight months and 13 days old, and at the 2008 Italian GP, ​​Sebastian Vettel, Heikki Kovalainen and Robert Kubica made it to 23 Years, eleven months and 16 days.
+++ For the first time since the Belgium GP 2001 there were two standing starts in a Formula 1 race.


Related Articles

Back to top button