Formula 1: Verstappen races to home pole

After 2021, the flying Dutchman also takes pole position in his home race in 2022: after a highly exciting qualifying, Max Verstappen starts his home race at the Dutch GP in Zandvoort from the square in the sun.

When the Red Bull star crossed the finish line 21 thousandths of a second ahead of Ferrari driver Charles Leclerc, the more than 100,000 fans erupted in collective cheering. “A lap like this is absolutely amazing,” says Verstappen. It’s the fourth pole of the year for the champion.

“In terms of layout, this is actually a Ferrari track,” admits Red Bull chief adviser Helmut Marko, “that’s why we’re glad that we got this pole.”

Third is the second Ferrari with Carlos Sainz ahead of Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) and Sergio Perez (Red Bull). Curious: Verstappen’s team-mate spins in the last corner, preventing George Russell from being able to improve his time again in sixth place.

Mick Schumacher delivered a strong qualification.

Strong performance from Mick Schumacher. The German Haas driver races behind Lando Norris (McLaren) in eighth place ahead of Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) and Lance Stroll (Aston Martin). His teammate Kevin Magnussen is only 18. After sixth place in Canada and seventh in Spielberg, it is Schumacher’s third-best qualifying result of the year.

Sebastian Vettel is already eliminated in the first qualifying segment: In 19th place he is almost a second behind his Aston Martin teammate Lance Stroll. Reason: After the best time in the first sector, the Hessian loses his green racer at the entrance to the second banked curve and sleds through the gravel bed. Nico Rosberg criticizes Sky: “That would not have happened to Max Verstappen.”

Vettel was thrown out in the first qualifying section due to a driving error.

Vettel himself says: “I was quite surprised that I had lost the rear. There was sand on the track. I tried everything on the lap and it’s a shame we lost it like that. That makes it incredibly difficult. That’s exactly what we wanted to avoid being knocked out so early again.”

Formula 1 Dutch Grand Prix

1. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) – Red Bull 1:10.342 min.
2. Charles Leclerc (Monaco) – Ferrari +0.021s
3. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) – Ferrari +0.092
4. Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain) – Mercedes +0.306
5. Sergio Perez (Mexico) – Red Bull +0.735
6. George Russell (Great Britain) – Mercedes +0.805
7. Lando Norris (Great Britain) – McLaren +0.832
8. Mick Schumacher (Gland/Switzerland) – Haas +1,100
9. Yuki Tsunoda (Japan) – Alpha Tauri +2.214
10. Lance Stroll (Canada) – Aston Martin 1:11.568
11. Pierre Gasly (France) – Alpha Tauri 1:11,512
12. Esteban Ocon (France) – Alpine 1:11.605
13. Fernando Alonso (Spain) – Alpine 1:11.613
14. Zhou Guanyu (China) – Alfa Romeo 1:11.704
15. Alexander Albon (Thailand) – Williams 1:11.802
16. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) – Alfa Romeo 1:11.961
17. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) – McLaren 1:12.081
18. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) – Haas 1:12.319
19. Sebastian Vettel (Heppenheim) – Aston Martin 1:12.391
20. Nicholas Latifi (Canada)—Williams 1:13.353

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button