Formula E: New qualification format and more horsepower in the race

Eleven winners in 15 races, the first five drivers in the World Championship within ten points, the first eleven within 20 points; Formula E is unpredictable. Drivers, teams and fans find it a bit too unpredictable. “Up to the last race there were 14 or 15 drivers in the fight for the title. That is of course exciting, but simply too much, ”says Maximilian Günther, for example.
The reasons are complex: the chassis are the same for all teams, the engines are limited to 340 hp, so the field is very close together. But the qualifying format also played a major role. The first six drivers in the World Championship had to go out first – when the track is still dirty, the grip level is low and the conditions are therefore at their worst. Starting positions far in the back of the field were usually the result. It’s logical that the World Cup table rotates so artificially.

Alone: ​​Formula E takes the criticism seriously. Now the qualifying format has been changed for the upcoming 2022 season. It’s complicated, but it’s supposed to make sporting competition fairer.

New complicated qualification format

It starts with a group stage. The drivers are divided into two groups. In the first, all the pilots who are in odd positions on the grid – for example, the World Championship leader, the World Championship third and so on. In the second group, the drivers come to the train in the even seats. Ten minutes is allotted for each group, whereby the drivers are obliged to drive at least one timed lap within the first five minutes. There is no limit to the number of laps.

Formula E will change the qualifying format from the coming 2022 season.

The first four of each group advance. The fifth placed in both groups start from row five, the sixth placed from row six and so on. The order results from the pole setter. The group from which the fastest qualifier comes later starts from the odd places (nine, eleven etc.), the others from the even places (ten, twelve etc.).

The eight drivers who prevailed in the group stage compete against each other in a knockout format according to their placement (fourth against fourth etc.). The losers get the starting positions five to eight based on their lap times.

More power for the race

In the semifinals, the winner of the first-placed duel competes against the winner of the fourth-placed duel, analogous to the winners of the other two quarter-finals. The winners race against each other for the pole.

The drivers have to be on the track at the same time. The winner of the group stage gets one point, three of the pole-setters.

In the group phase, the power is limited to 220 kW (approx. 300 hp), in the knockout phase the full 250 kW (340 hp) may be skimmed off. The power in the race will be increased from 200 (272 hp) to 220 kW (300 hp).

Race extension like in football

The first training session will be reduced from 45 to 30 minutes due to the longer qualifying.

There is an important innovation for the race. The race time is extended by 45 seconds for every minute behind the safety car or a caution period – provided this happens within the first 40 minutes of the race. So far, energy has been withdrawn from the drivers, but this led to chaos at the race in Valencia because the drivers were left lying down in rows without energy.

In addition, the calendar for 2022 has been adjusted. The race planned for February 26 in Cape Town, South Africa, is canceled. Due to the corona measures in South Africa, it cannot be guaranteed that the route will be set up on time. For this purpose, it is planned to drive on March 5th – at a location that has not yet been defined. The venue for the run on June 4th is now also clear: Jakarta (Indonesia) will be included in the electrical program for the first time.

The date for the race in Berlin remains: May 14th.

Formula E calendar 2022

January 28th: ​​Riyadh (Saudi Arabia)
January 29: Riyadh (Saudi Arabia)
February 12: Mexico City (Mexico) #
March 5th: Still open
19th March: ??? (China)
April 9: Rome (Italy)
April 30: Monaco (Monaco)
May 14: Berlin (Germany)
June 4th: Jakarta (Indonesia)
July 2: Vancouver (Canada)
July 16: New York (USA)
July 17th: New York (USA)
July 30th: London (UK)
July 31: London (UK)
August 13: Seoul (South Korea)
August 14: Seoul (South Korea)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button