GT Masters: Porsche is champion: mass crash decides title

Mass crash decides title

Michael Ammermüller and Christian Engelhart win the ADAC GT Masters 2020 title. Mass crash at the finale. for a final of the ADAC GT Masters in Oschersleben! At the start, seven drivers still had title chances (more about this HERE).

After a few seconds, the first were out of the race – the defending champions Kelvin van der Linde and Patric Niederhauser were involved in a mass crash, after which the race even had to be interrupted.

The new GT Masters champions Engelhart and Ammermüller


In the end, the Porsche SSR Performance team, which competed in the GT Masters in 2020, cheered. Michael Ammermüller and Christian Engelhart sat at the wheel of the Porsche 911 GT3 R (four-liter, six-cylinder boxer, approx. 550 hp). Fourth place in the race was enough for them.

It was the first GT Masters title for the two Germans. Ammermüller has been the series champion in the Porsche Supercup for the past three years and entered the GT Masters in 2020. Engelhart won the runner-up title in the super sports car league for Grasser Lamborghini in 2019 with Mirko Bortolotti.
By the way: In theory, the Porsche 911 GT3 R would also be eligible to compete in the DTM from 2021. But the GT Masters will also be more attractive in 2021, when it will officially be an international GT championship. In addition, the title winners can look forward to 500,000 euros in prize money.


Related Articles

Back to top button