Hamilton takes pole on home soil, Verstappen third

The Mercedes team was an absolute class apart in qualifying, but Hamilton’s qualification was not entirely smooth sailing: the Brit was even left behind in the second qualifying part after a rare spin and had to go in the first two qualifying parts are recognizing multiple in teammate Bottas. At the crucial moment, however, it was again the reigning world champion who managed to pull the longest end: with a 1: 24.303 Hamilton pressed a new lap record from his Mercedes and for the seventh time in his career he took the first place for his home race on hold, earning him his 91st Formula 1 pole overall. Bottas had to settle for second place, + 0.313s behind his stable mate.

Verstappen has to settle for P3

For Max Verstappen there was no more than a third starting place in the qualification. The Dutchman had no chance in the duel with both Mercedes and eventually had to give in for more than a second at Hamilton’s fastest time. The Red Bull driver shares the second row on Sunday with the Ferrari of Charles Leclerc, who was just over a tenth slower than Verstappen.

Lando Norris managed to send his McLaren to a neat fifth time on his own soil, with which he was faster than the “pink Mercedes” from Lance Stroll. The Canadian finished sixth in the qualification between the two McLarens of Norris and Carlos Sainz. Daniel Ricciardo and Esteban Ocon made sure that both Renaults qualified in the top ten with an eighth and ninth time. Sebastian Vettel once again had his hands full with the Ferrari and completed the top ten.

Albon and Hülkenberg eliminated in Q2

One of the setbacks in qualifying was Alexander Albon, who with his Red Bull was slower than Pierre Gasly’s Alpha Tauri and had to settle for a twelfth place. With that, he did slightly better than substitute Nico Hülkenberg. The German was eliminated early with his Racing Point and departs from the thirteenth starting position on Sunday.

Starting line-up Grand Prix of Great Britain
1.Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes
2.Valtteri BottasFINMercedes
3.Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull-Honda
4.Charles LeclercMONFerrari
5.Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren-Renault
6.Lance StrollCANRacing Point Mercedes
7.Carlos SainzSPAMcLaren-Renault
8.Daniel RicciardoAUSRenault
9.Esteban OconFRARenault
10.Sebastian VettelDUIFerrari
11.Pierre GaslyFRAAlpha Tauri-Honda
12.Alexander AlbonTHARed Bull-Honda
13.Nico HülkenbergDUIRacing Point Mercedes
14.George RussellGBRWilliams-Mercedes
15.Kevin MagnussenPINE TREEHaas Ferrari
16.Antonio GiovinazziITAAlfa Romeo Ferrari
17.Kimi RaikkonenFINAlfa Romeo Ferrari
18.Romain GrosjeanFRAHaas Ferrari
19. *Daniil KvyatRUSAlpha Tauri-Honda
20.Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams-Mercedes

* Five places grid penalty after a gearbox change


Related Articles

Back to top button