IndyCar: Alonsos Auto: The car for the Triple Crown

The car for the Triple Crown

Fernando Alonso shows the paintwork of his car, with which he wants to win the Indy 500 and get the Triple Crown in 2020. Spectators allowed.

EActually, the Indy 500 2020 would be history long ago. But nothing is normal with the corona pandemic. The Indy 500 will be moved from May to August for the first time. The 104th edition of the oldest car race in the world will take place on August 23.

With: Fernando Alonso. He really wants to win the Indy 500. Then he would have defeated the Monaco Grand Prix, the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the Indy 500. So far, only Triple Hill got this Triple Crown.


This is what Alonso’s Indy 500 car looks like in 2020

Alonso will drive for the McLaren-SP team – a combination of the Formula 1 team McLaren and the long-standing IndyCar racing team Schmidt Peterson. Alonso’s car was presented today: the Dallara-Chevrolet comes in the basic color white, with darker and turquoise accents.

So far 30 drivers have been registered for the Indy 500. Eight of them have already won the IndyCar climax: Hélio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009), Scott Dixon (2008), Tony Kanaan (2013), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Alexander Rossi (2016), Takuma Sato (2017 ), Will Power (2018) and Simon Pagenaud (2019).

Traditionally, 33 drivers always start with the Indy 500.

Despite the corona pandemic, fans should be allowed on the Indy 500 – up to 100,000!

The 2020 Indy 500 field
Simon Pagenaud (Penske-Chevrolet)
Josef Newgarden (Penske-Chevrolet)
Will Power (Penske-Chevrolet)
Hélio Castroneves (Penske-Chevrolet)
Alexander Rossi (Andretti-Honda)
Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti-Honda)
Marco Andretti (Andretti / Herta-Honda)
Zach Veach (Andretti-Honda)
Colton Herta (Andretti / Harding / Steinbrenner-Honda)
James Hinchcliffe (Andretti-Honda)
Takuma Sato (Rahal / Letterman / Lanigan-Honda)
Graham Rahal (Rahal / Letterman / Lanigan-Honda)
Spencer Pigot (Rahal / Letterman / Lanigan / Citrone / Buhl-Honda)
Ed Carpenter (Carpenter-Chevrolet)
Conor Daly (Carpenter-Chevrolet)
Rinus VeeKay (Carpenter-Chevrolet)
Santino Ferrucci (Dale Coyne / Vasser / Sullivan-Honda)
Alex Palou (Dale Coyne / Vasser / Sullivan-Honda)
Tony Kanaan (Foyt-Chevrolet)
Charlie Kimball (Foyt-Chevrolet)
Dalton Kellett (Foyt-Chevrolet)
Patricio O’Ward (McLaren-SP-Chevrolet)
Oliver Askew (McLaren-SP-Chevrolet)
Fernando Alonso (McLaren-SP-Chevrolet)
Scott Dixon (Ganassi Chevrolet)
Felix Rosenqvist (Ganassi-Chevrolet)
Marcus Ericsson (Ganassi-Chevrolet)
Sage Karam (Dreyer / Reinbold-Chevrolet)
Jack Harvey (Meyer / Shank-Honda)
Max Chilton (Carlin Chevrolet)


Related Articles

Back to top button