Movies & Series

Internet Oscars for positive Miley and Tom #NiceTweets Hanks

The Webby Awards have been awarded again, including Miley Cyrus, Tom Hanks and National Geographic won prizes.

The annual event that highlights websites and people who make a difference on the internet is celebrated differently than usual this year, but the honor is no less.

Positive Miley

Miley got one Special Achievement Award. Her live show Bright Minded According to the jury, Instagram is a “positive digital forum to connect and uplift people during the coronavirus outbreak” because Miley “helps people see light on the darkest days”.

Screenshot of Miley Cyrus during her talk show on her Instagram Stories

Tom Hanks received an award for reading heartwarming tweets on YouTube under the hashtag #NiceTweets. Actress Kristen Bell receives an award for presenting a program about the corona virus on children’s channel Nickelodeon. Children can ask questions and express their concerns. Cardi B., Lil Nas X, James Corden, Game of Thrones and Celine Dion also won prizes.


The app Houseparty was voted breakthrough of the year. Users can make video calls and play games together in the app. They can be so together now that they cannot be together due to lockdowns, although the app also turned out to be attractive to hackers. 17-year-old American student Avi Schiffmann has been named person of the year. As early as December, when the coronavirus was raging alone in Wuhan, he started the site to monitor the outbreak.

Not a big ceremony

National Geographic was named Media Company of the Year for winning no less than fifteen different Webby Awards.

The winners will be presented with their prizes on Tuesday evening. This used to happen during a large ceremony, but the corona virus canceled it. The entire presentation is now done from home. There is an after party, even from home.

About the Webby Awards

The Webby Awards are prizes presented annually The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences be awarded to the best websites (in the broadest sense of the word) in the world. The prizes were first awarded in 1996.

The International Academy is a select group of 550 individuals, including the founders of the Flickr photo website, Richard Branson of Virgin and Matt Groening of The Simpsons.


Related Articles

Back to top button