Stranger Things 4 launches with warning after Texas school shooting

The fourth season of the Netflix series Stranger Things has started. A warning was added to the US version for a short time.

Stranger Things fans can rejoice: The first seven episodes of the successful Netflix series Stranger Things are now available. The fourth season is divided into two parts. The seven episodes now released are part of the first part of the fourth season. The other episodes will then follow as “Volume 2” from July 1, 2022.

Series makers respond to Texas school shootings

The start of the fourth season of Stranger Things is overshadowed by the school shooting in Texas this week. An 18-year-old man broke into an elementary school in the small town of Uvalde, Texas, killing 19 children and two teachers.

The first eight minutes of the first episode of Stranger Things season four involves violence at a school, so Netflix made a last-minute decision to display a warning at the beginning of the episode. This will only be shown to Netflix users in the US, as Variety reports. Netflix decided to add this warning card to the first episode because the premiere coincides with the tragedy and the scene in question shows a lot of violence in a school.

Accordingly, the following note from the series creators is displayed in English at the beginning of the episode:

“We filmed this season of ‘Stranger Things’ a year ago. But given the recent tragic school shooting in Texas, viewers may find the opening scene of Episode 1 harrowing. We are deeply saddened by this unspeakable violence, and our hearts are with every family grieving the loss of a loved one.”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button