Ten Voorde takes GTE AM victory in 8 hours from Bahrain

Just as in the LMP1 class – where the Toyota with start number 7 convincingly took the victory – the 8-hour race was also mainly dominated by one car in the GTE Pro class. Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen initially seemed to face opposition from the two Aston Martins with their # 92 Porsche 911 RSR-19, but a brake change for the two Aston Martins ensured that the victory was convincing prey for Porsche.

Estre and Christensen controlled the race for their stable mates Gianmaria Bruni and Richard Lietz, who made it a 1-2 for Porsche in the sister car with start number 91.

The title in the GTE Pro class eventually went to Aston Martin. Nicki Thiim and Marco Sorensen had a difficult race in the # 97 Aston Martin, but a fifth place was enough for the Danish duo to still win the world title.

Ten Voorde wins in GTE AM

In the GTE AM class, the victory went to Larry ten Voorde, who together with Jörg Bergmeister and Egidio Perfetti formed a team in the Porsche with start number 56. Ten Voorde – who earlier this year also took the title in the prestigious Porsche Supercup – fought for the lead in the last hour, to eventually take the victory with more than half a minute ahead.

Second place went to the AF Corse Ferrari of Nicklas Nielsen, Francois Perrodo and Emmanuel Collard, which was enough for the trio to secure the title in the AM class. Unlike Ten Voorde, Jeroen Bleekemolen had less luck in the sister car with start number 57. Together with teammates Ben Keating and Dylan Pereira, he ended the season in sixth place, partly due to an unfortunate timing of a Safety Car situation.


Related Articles

Back to top button