Ubuntu 22.10 Kinetic Kudu: Development has started

The next Ubuntu version 22.10 is called Kinetic Kudu. That’s what the codename means and that’s what we know about Ubuntu 22.10.

Canonical has revealed the codename of the next Ubuntu version. Accordingly, Ubuntu 22.10 is named ”

Kinetic Kudu

“. Kinetic means kinetic, so it’s about movement or kinetic energy. “Kudu” on the other hand, according to omg!ubuntu, is the name of an African antelope. The male kudus have impressively rounded horns.

Support: Only nine months

Ubuntu 22.10 only gets nine months of support. Users who want to be provided with updates for a longer period of time without having to upgrade to a new Ubuntu version should therefore better install Ubuntu 22.04 LTS, which was released just a few days ago, and remain loyal to it. Because the LTS versions get five years and even ten years of support for a fee (Extended Maintenance Release, ESM).

release date

Ubuntu 22.10 is scheduled for release on October 20, 2022. Check out the current schedule here at Canonical.


Although the development has officially started, concrete innovations are not yet known at this early stage.

The new Ubuntu version will certainly appear with a new Linux kernel and probably with Gnome 43 as the desktop. As usual, there are numerous derivatives such as Kubuntu, Lubuntu, Ubuntu Budgie, UbuntuKylin, Ubuntu Mate, Ubuntu Studio and Xubuntu as well as server and cloud versions.

Download Ubuntu 22.10

There is currently no trial version of Ubuntu 22.10 available for download. These first test versions called “Daily Builds” can be found – as soon as they are available – under this link.

Download all Ubuntu 22.10 variants

There are currently no downloads of the test versions of the derivatives Kubuntu, Lubuntu, Mythbuntu, Ubuntu Budgie, Ubuntu Gnome, Ubuntu Kylin, Ubuntu Mate, Ubuntu Studio and Xubuntu.

Ubuntu 22.10. will only be available as a 64-bit version.

Reports about previous versions:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button