Tech

View the history of the clipboard, synchronize content






The newer versions of Windows 10 save the clipboard history by default instead of overwriting the content every time you copy and cut.

This is useful if, for example, you want to use text modules over and over again across multiple documents and applications. The history takes up to 25 entries. As soon as you copy a new element, such as a picture or a section of text, to the clipboard, the older ones slide down.

In the Windows default setting, the clipboard history is already switched on. Nevertheless, you should check this briefly by calling up “Settings” in the start menu and then clicking on “System -> Clipboard”. Also make sure that the switch under “Clipboard History” is set to “On”. In order to then view the contents of the clipboard, simply press the key combination Win-V. To insert an element into the currently open document, click on it.

As you were used to from the old Windows clipboard, the content is only kept in the main memory and then automatically deleted when you exit. But that can also be prevented: Windows displays three dots in the top right corner of each element. After clicking on it, you can use “On start page” to specify that it is saved permanently and that it is also available after a restart. As soon as it is no longer needed, you can remove it again in the same way using “Detach”.

With the key combination Win-V you can display the contents of the clipboard, you can then select an element from the list.

Enlarge

With the key combination Win-V you can display the contents of the clipboard, you can then select an element from the list.

If you log in to Windows using a Microsoft account, you also have access to the “Synchronize on all devices” option. After activation, the contents of the clipboard are also visible on your other computers with a Windows account login. However, this only works with texts, but not with images and other objects.

Because Microsoft can see the texts, there are data protection problems. For this reason, the option is deactivated by default. As soon as you switch it on, you can choose whether the content is distributed automatically or only after you have clicked on “Synchronization” in the three-dot menu. To remove the contents of your clipboard both locally and on Microsoft’s servers, click the “Delete” button.

Tip:

The best commands for the Windows command line

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button