WEC Bahrain: title war between Porsche and Ferrari escalates

Crime at the final of the Sports Car World Championship WEC at the 8-hour race in Bahrain. Ferrari’s title win in the GTE Pro class is highly controversial – and probably not yet set in stone.
There was no surprise in the top class. Toyota took victory and the world title – but with different vehicles. Kazuki Nakajima, Sébastien Buemi and Brendon Hartley won the final, Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and José María López, however, second place was enough to win the title.

Toyota takes victory and the world title at the 8 Hours of Bahrain.

At the start, Toyota was surprised by Alpine. But the French leadership lasted only a few minutes. Then Toyota dominated the race. Nakajima crossed the line to victory in his last WEC race of his career. The ex-Formula 1 driver is ending his WEC career.

Flörsch tests for the LMP2 master team

In the LMP2 category, Ferdinand Habsburg, Robin Frijns and Charles Milesi won the class and the title for WRT. For the team from Belgium, Sophia Flörsch can do a test tomorrow. The woman from Munich finished ninth today with her women’s team.

The crime story took place in the GTE Pro category. Porsche and Ferrari fought each other for the title. The two vehicles were not far apart during the entire race. In the final phase, Ferrari caught up with Porsche in seven mile boots. Alessandro Pierre Guidi (Ferrari) found no way past Michael Christensen (Porsche) for a long time. In the last quarter of an hour there was a collision in which Guidi turned the Porsche around and took the lead.

The race management therefore instructed the Italian to let Christensen pass again. But he drove his Porsche into the pit. Ferrari then called Guidi for service, but he stayed ahead and did not give up the position. This makes him GTE-Pro world champion together with James Calado.

Controversial crash

But this will still be hotly debated. Also because Ferrari has previously protested. The Italian luxury brand felt disadvantaged by the balance of performance because around 25 hp were stolen from them before Bahrain – through a smaller tank and less boost pressure.

Ferrari also took the title in the GTE amateur class – with Alessio Rovera, Francois Perrodo and Nicklas Nielsen at the wheel.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button