Tech

Whatsapp: Free up unnecessarily used memory – this is how it works






Ancient photos, videos, voice messages: what to do if there is too much junk data in the WhatsApp memory? With this trick you can finally clean up – and free up your memory again.

Every time you receive or send a photo, video or voice message on Whatsapp, the app saves this file on your mobile phone. Over time, this can add up to a considerable mountain of data and eat up memory unnecessarily. Thanks to a specific function in Whatsapp, you have the option of managing and deleting saved media if you no longer need them. We explain exactly how this works in this guide.

Manage data and storage on Whatsapp

The Messenger contains an area in which you can clearly see how much storage space your Whatsapp media are taking up and where particularly large files are hidden that you may no longer need. To do this, proceed as follows:

  1. Open Whatsapp and the menu at the top right.

  2. Choose

    settings

    .

  3. Tap on

    Storage and data

    .

  4. Go to the very top

    Manage storage

    .

In addition to the memory allocation of your mobile phone, this window shows you all the chats and groups that require the most storage space – conveniently sorted by size in descending order. By clicking on the individual chats, you can see in preview images and specifying the file size which media you have sent or received from the relevant contact.

To delete, select either individual files or all files at once and press the trash can in the upper right corner. If you are no longer sure what is behind a particular video or voice message, you can call up this file with one click and play it again.

Note:

Chats that contain only a small amount of media and therefore hardly take up any storage space will not be displayed to you.

Send media for one-time viewing only

We’ll tell you another way to save your storage space from unnecessary garbage: sending media for one-time viewing. Once the file has been opened by the recipient, it automatically disappears from the chat and is therefore no longer saved.

Of course, this feature is extremely unsuitable for important messages or photos. But if, for example, you have very confidential media that you don’t want to know either in your memory or in the recipient’s memory, the “View Once” function can be extremely useful.

You might also be interested in:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button